Mademoiselle Vampy Von Sasssy Pants

Since I am feeling a little bit  FUG today,  I am going to go 180 degrees in the other direction and discuss my new  sexy ass lip color.  Most of what I’ve posted so far is really beauty basics/staples. I am a HUGE supporter of letting your natural beauty shine through but here and there you gotta go balls to the wall and just rock something totally out there.  This sounds like a segue to me!

I dressed up as Medusa for Halloween. People were a bit confused by my costume even though I had snakes on my head ( learn your Greek Mythology people). Anyway, my goal was to look gothic but also sexy.  As the history goes, Medusa was once a beautiful young creature who was transformed into a hideous monster as a punishment by Athena for seducing Poseidon. Whoa history lesson! Click here if you want a refresher at Wikipedia- it’s really quite interesting!

So, Medusa had snakes for hair and could turn men to stone. EH. That was a little TOO much. So I went the vamp route and wore all black and took my sassy pants down to M.A.C to find me some dramatic makeup to complete my look. The poor girl at the counter must have been at somewhat of a loss when I walked up in a baseball cap jeans etc. on a Saturday morning (hung-over/partially still drunk again) and asked her to make me look like Medusa. She was a little confused at first but she went with it.  She actually recommended a few items that I could use beyond just my Halloween costume, and I actually LOVE LOVE LOVE them all.  So, you say, DISH –

First, the lipstick. It is so smoking hot. Its called MEDIA – yes, I know, the irony is not lost on me.

Media Lip

 

 

 

 

M.A.C. Cosmetics MEDIA Satin Lip ~ $14 @ M.A.C locations

The thing that you have to consider when you buy a really bold lip color – you absolutely need lip liner. I have to admit when I think lip liner I think about those steaming hot messes that put a purple line around and nothing else, all meth-face style. It’s a big misconception about lip liner. You just need a shade that is quite close to the lipstick but a touch darker. Line the lip and actually fill it in before putting the lipstick over it. Top off with a gloss if you aren’t digging the matte look. I also find it just evens things out. I lined with M.A.C Currant lip pencil & glossed with this fun, laquery-sparkley gloss –

she-zam-dazzleglass-lrg

 

 

And I suppose it’s only fair I give you a Medusa pic for enduring this long-winded post! I also wore it out last Friday night b/c I was getting a bit more dressed up than usual. So fun!

medusa


0 Responses to “Mademoiselle Vampy Von Sasssy Pants”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other subscribers